About the awards process 

At Grand Chapter, the recipients of several Sigma Chi awards are announced and members are inducted into the Order of Constantine, which recognizes brothers who have donated 20 or more years of volunteer service to the Fraternity. 

International Sweetheart of Sigma Chi

Undergraduate chapters nominate their sweetheart for the role of International Sweetheart, supplying a letter of recommendation supporting her candidacy to the General Fraternity; she also shares a personal statement regarding why she wants the role, her resume, a transcript of her grades and a photo. The International Sweetheart selection committee then reviews the nominations and interviews its list of finalists for the role, who are then invited to attend Grand Chapter. At the event, the finalists deliver a speech to undergraduate delegates about why they want to become International Sweetheart. From there, undergraduate delegates vote to elect one of the finalists to the role.

The finalists for 2017 to 2017 International Sweetheart are Allisen Hagemeyer of the University of Cincinnati, Kellyn McMullan of Ball State University and Hannah Woodruff of the University of Memphis.

Hagemeyer is a 2017 graduate with a bachelor's degree in architecture. She had a 3.47 GPA at the time she was nominated to become International Sweetheart. Hagemeyer was a project designer in a co-op in which she worked with Wentz Design of Cincinnati. She is a volunteer for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society and is a member of Kappa Kappa Gamma Sorority, for which she was service trip chairman.

McMullan is a fashion merchandising major who plans to graduate in 2018. Upon her nomination as International Sweetheart, she had a 3.79 GPA. McMullan is a campus manager for University Tees apparel company and a resident assistant. She is a member of Alpha Omicron Pi women's fraternity, for which she was apparel chairman.

Woodruff is a business management major who graduated in 2017. At the time she was nominated to become International Sweetheart, she had a 3.78 GPA and expected to graduate magna cum laude. She was a recipient of the Emerging Leaders Scholarship program and a member of the Helen Hardin Honors program. She is a member of Alpha Gamma Delta women's fraternity, for which she served as president and vice president of operations.

Order of Constantine

Each year, the Order of Constantine recognizes a group of up Sigma Chi brothers for their commitment, dedication and service to the Fraternity. Induction into the Order of Constantine is considered to be the highest honor that the Sigma Chi Fraternity bestows upon one of its members. The honor of being named an Order of Constantine Sig has been conferred on just over 670 brothers since the Order's inception at the 47th Grand Chapter in 1948.

To view a list of all the members of the Order of Constantine, please click here.

2017 inductees into the Order of Constantine, please click here for multimedia instructions and sample acceptance speech video. 

Significant Sig Award

The Sigma Chi International Fraternity has recognized more than 1,500 brothers with the Significant Sig Award since its inception at the 1935 Grand Chapter. Alumni in any profession, occupation or service work are eligible for consideration.

Any Sigma Chi may nominate a brother for the Significant Sig award. A nomination consists of a completed nomination form, and a resume or summary of the nominee's past and present occupations and positions, professional and/or civic activities, and honors or awards received. Service to Sigma Chi as an undergraduate or alumnus is not a criterion for this award, and ought not to be listed. If a candidate is selected, a nominator may be asked to assist the alumni services department at International Fraternity Headquarters with coordinating an awards ceremony. Only living members of the Fraternity are eligible to receive the award.

To view a list of all the Significant Sigs, please click here.

2017 Significant Sigs, please click here for multimedia instructions and sample acceptance speech video. 

Additional alumni and volunteer awards

The winners of the following additional awards are announced at Grand Chapter:

* Edwin C. Fischer Grand Praetor Award;
* Erwin L. LeClerg Outstanding Chapter Advisor Award;
* Jay E. Minton Best Alumni Chapter Officer Award;
* William T. Bringham Best House Corporation Officer Award;
* Seven Lights Alumni Award;
* Edna A. Boss Houseparent Award;
* Parents Club Award for Excellence; and
* Dr. Henri Stegemeier Outstanding Faculty Advisor Award.